President’s Welcome 2016

Dear All,

As you’ll be aware ASFS has a new-look committee this year: Véronique Duché comes in as the new Vice President; Natalie Edwards is the new Treasurer; and Julie Robert is the new Postgraduate Officer. Amy Hubbell, Tess Do and I are the continuity from last year, as Editor of Publications, Secretary and President. Many thanks to Véronique, Natalie and Julie for stepping up into these portfolios. We’d also like here to extend our thanks and best wishes to John West-Sooby, who has stepped down from the committee as Vice President after many years of service. For those of you who are more recent members of the society and who may not know John, he has been a mentor and great friend to many of us for a long time and a real leader in the discipline in Australia. He, of course, continues to be so, and we look forward to continuing to working with him and being guided by him into the future. But for now, many thanks for your work on the committee, John, most recently as Vice President.

ASFS 2015

ASFS 2015 was very successful. Thanks to all of you who attended. Especial thanks (from me) to my colleagues Julie Robert and Marie-Laure Vuaille-Barcan for their hard work. Professors Murray Pratt and Jarrod Hayes were terrific keynote speakers with whom we hope to maintain links into the future. It was encouraging to see so many visitors from the UK and the US (and Craig from Tasmania!) and also a good number of postgraduates and ECRs, some of whom were presenting for the first time at a conference. The conference also made us a little bit of money, so we are hoping to be able to think about some new initiatives as a result.

Colleagues, and discipline heads especially, please be reminded that it’ll be Baudin Scholarship time again soon. So, encourage students to look these up on the Embassy website.

Prizes / Publications

Postgraduates, you are encouraged to submit papers for the 2016 ASFS/AJFS postgraduate prize. The best essay will receive a prize of $500 and will be published in AJFS in the twelve months (or so) following this year’s conference in Adelaide. Applicants must be enrolled in a research higher degree at an Australian university and have a current membership of ASFS. Articles may be written in English or French and must be presented according to AJFS style guidelines (see the AJFS website at www.liverpool For more details, check the ASFS website.

ECRs, please be aware that Emeritus Professor Nick Hewitt, Editor of French Cultural Studies is keen to consider applications for events that might drive a special issue of the journal (these might include conference panels, for example). If you have an idea, please contact me or Nick (University of Nottingham, UK) to discuss.

Forthcoming conferences / events

ASFS 2016. Thanks to Chris Hogarth and Saige Walton (Uni SA) and Natalie Edwards and Ben McCann (Adelaide) for organizing this year’s ASFS, which will be held in Adelaide, across both campuses, 7-9 December. For info, contact the organizing committee. ECRs and Postgrads (or PG directors in programs) are encouraged to contact Dr Julie Robert with suggestions about what they would find most useful in terms of programming for the PG day.

Marguerite Duras et les Arts.
University of Sydney, 29 June – 1 July. Contact Associate Professor Michelle Royer.

Mentoring Conference. University of Melbourne, 25-27 August. Contact Professor Véronique Duché.

FATFA conference. In conjunction with SAFTA and ASFS. Flinders, 29 September 2 October. Contact Kerry Ludwig:

UNSW Canberra’s Australian Centre for the Study of Armed Conflict and Society, in conjunction with the Institute for the Study of French-Australian Relations (ISFAR). UNSW Canberra, 9-10 November. Symposium on the relationships between Australia and France during the Great War (in all aspects – in Australia and in France; military, social, economic, cultural, during and after the war). Contact Prof. Peter Stanley (FAHA), University of NSW Canberra.

Diasporic Vietnamese literature in French and English. Colloquium at University of Melbourne, 1-2 December. More information will appear on the ASFS website in due course. Contact Dr Tess Do.

ISFAR conference on French-Australian Studies. Adelaide, 6 December in conjunction with ASFS. Contact Dr Kerry Mullan (RMIT).

Alistair Rolls, ASFS President
20 March 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s