Women in French Postgraduate and Early Career Researcher International Symposium

Please consider attending Women in French’s postgraduate and early career researcher international symposium. Organised by several ASFS members, this virtual symposium focuses on immersion in women’s literature and hybrid media (including photo-texts, bande dessinée, cinema, journals, and other media), with a particular emphasis on immersivity as both a pleasurable and productive feature. It will include presentations from postgraduate students and early career researchers working on questions of gender or feminism in French studies.

Dates: Thursday 13th to Saturday 15th January 2022

Keynote Speakers:

  • Professor Diana Holmes (Leeds)
  • Professor Michèle Bacholle (Eastern Connecticut)
  • Dr Alexandra Kurmann (Macquarie)

See the webpage and download the programme here.
Please register for the event here!

The Immersive Potential of Literature and Hybrid Media in the 20th and 21st Centuries


Day One: Thursday 13th January


Start Times: 4:00 p.m. (UK); 11:00 a.m. (US Eastern Daylight).

Introduction and Opening Remarks

Arline Cravens (Saint Louis), Women in French President

E. Nicole Meyer (Augusta), Women in French Vice-President

Panel 1: Immersive Multimedia

4:15 p.m. (UK); 10:15 a.m. (Madison, U.S.).

Chair: Eric Wistrom

Emma Rossby (Pennsylvania State), “Still Heroes, Moving Parts: Interactivity Redefined in Exaheva’s 2021 Digital Comic Installation”

Andrea Jonsson (Georgia Institute of Technology), “Les friandises et la parole libre: the unexpected joy of listening to strangers speak about anything and nothing in the podcast À bientôt de te revoir” 

Q+A

Panel 2: Immersive Texts by Women and for Women

5:30 p.m. (UK).

Chair: Michèle Bacholle

Viviana Pezzullo (Florida Atlantic), “Feminist Journals in the 1970s as Textual Collective Performativity”

Sandra Daroczi (Bath), “Reading (between) the lines in Monique Wittig’s fiction”

Marie Velikanov (Lorraine), “Texte avec ‘x-reader’: un genre immersif de la fanfiction”

Q+A

Keynote 1: Michèle Bacholle

7:00 p.m. (UK); 2:00 p.m. (US Eastern Daylight); 5:00 a.m. (Brisbane, Aust.).

Chair: Beth Kearney

Michèle Bacholle (Eastern Connecticut), “Losing (and Finding) Oneself in the Lives of Others and in Photo-texts: Isabelle Monnin and Clara Beaudoux”

Q+A


Day Two: Friday 14th January


Start Times: 8:00 a.m. (UK);  7:00 p.m. (Australia – Syd./Melb./Can.).

Keynote 2: Alexandra Kurmann

Chair: Françoise Campbell

Alexandra Kurmann (Macquarie), “Immersion in Literature as Other: The Sartrean Gaze and the Production of Empathetic Reader-Consciousness”

Q+A

Panel 3: Disruptive Waters: Maternity and Political Protest

9:15 a.m. (UK); 8:15 p.m. (Australia – Syd./Melb./Can.).

Chair: Egle Kackute

Josephine Goldman (Sydney), “Intertextual mothering in Guy Gabon’s “La montée des eaux” and Maryse Condé’s En attendant la montée des eaux

Dakshayani Shankar (Emory), “Womb as Forestry: Feminine Tyranny battling African Despotism in Sony Labou Tansi’s La Vie et demie

Q+A

Panel 4: Land, Water and Gender

10:30 a.m. (UK).

Chair: Caroline Verdier

Dalila Villella (London), “Maestri’s land-textes: an instrument to rethink social relations and female identity”

Elly Walters (Oxford), “Water and mental unhealth in Amélie Nothomb’s Soif (2019) and Marie Darrieussecq’s La Mer à l’envers (2019)”

Q+A


Day Three: Saturday 15th January


Start Times: 10:00 a.m. (UK); 9:00 p.m. (Australia – Syd./Melb./Can.); 5:00 a.m. (US Eastern Daylight).

Keynote 3: Diana Holmes

Chair: Polly Galis

Diana Holmes (Leeds), “The everyday miracle of reading fiction (and Leila Slimani’s turn to the family saga)”

Q+A

Panel 5: Immersive Cinema

11:15 a.m. (UK); 10:15 p.m. (Australia – Syd./Melb./Can.); 6:15 a.m. (US Eastern Daylight).

Chair: TBC

Sophie Coombs (Queensland), “Portrait de la Cinéaste en tant que Jeune Femme : a Re-reading of Chantal Akerman’s News from Home (1976) as a Journey to Artistic Subjectivity”

Maddalena Eccher (Goldsmiths), “‘Another Word Another Image’: Poetic and Visual Experimentation in the Transformative Narratives of Theresa Hak Kyung Cha”

Alice Hagopian (St Andrews), “Who is Madame Bovary’s Bad Reader? Reflecting on Immersion and the Ethics of Reading with Anne Fontaine’s 2014 Film” 

Q+A

New publication: Nicolas Baudin’s voyage to Australia and the pursuit of science

We wish to draw attention to this new publication of a volume of essays, ‘Roaming Freely Throughout the Universe’: Nicolas Baudin’s Voyage to Australia and the Pursuit of Science, co-edited by former ASFS President Professor Jean Fornasiero and long-time ASFS member Professor John West-Sooby.

The Age of Exploration not only paved the way for European conquest and trade, it also widened the horizons of science. By the second half of the eighteenth century, the link between travel and science was so widely acknowledged that it had become routine practice to include naturalists in all major voyages of exploration.

The need to study natural phenomena in situ might seem self-evident. Some, however, considered that the main purpose of fieldwork was to collect specimens for the dispassionate examination of specialists back home. Truly meaningful study, they argued, required the kinds of resources that were not available to those in the field. As the renowned French naturalist Georges Cuvier put it, ‘it is only in one’s study that one can roam freely throughout the universe’.

In the context of this debate, Nicolas Baudin’s voyage of discovery to Australia (1800-1804), which included both specialist field collectors and aspiring young savants, proved pivotal. Drawing on a range of archival sources, the essays presented here offer fresh perspectives on Baudin’s scientific voyagers, their work and its legacy. What emerges is a deeper appreciation of the Baudin expedition’s contribution to the pursuit of science, and of those who pursued it.

Please consider ordering this publication for your university’s library.